Find Us On Facebook! Follow Us On Twitter SMADC Youtube Channel


Subscribe to SMADC NEWS!







ABOUT SMADC: Staff and Commission


SMADC meetings are open to the public and generally take place on the first Monday of each month from January-April when Legislature is in session, and the first Wednesday of month from May-December at 9:00 am in the SMECO Board Room:

15045 Burnt Store Road, Hughesville, MD 20637

Occasionally, meetings may be cancelled, postponed or changed to a different venue. Although anticipated changes to the schedule will be posted on the SMADC website under “What’s New/ News and Announcements,” please call ahead to confirm: 301-274-1922 ex 1.



last updated 12/28/16

  • Director (Position Vacant)
  • Cia Morey, Administrator
  • Susan McQuilkin, Marketing Executive
  • Karyn Owens, Special Projects Coordinator
  • Priscilla Wentworth, Food Programs Coordinator

Graphic Design: Conni James, Unique Designz



Regular Members – 4 year terms

  • One member of the Senate: 
    Senator Thomas "Mac" Middleton
  • One member of the House of Delegates:
    Delegate Sally Jameson
  • Five Southern Maryland farmers – one each from Charles, Calvert, St. Mary's, Anne Arundel, and Prince George's Counties: (with representation across sectors)
    John Faber – Anne Arundel
    Benson Tiralla– Calvert
    Eddie Bowling – Charles
    Yates Clagett – Pr. George's
    Willie Goddard – St. Mary’s
  • One representative from the College of Southern Maryland: 
    Bill Hitte

Rotating Members – 2 year terms

  • Up to five members at large: (eg. business, economic development, finance, legal)
    Kim Rush Lynch (Economic Development) – Prince George’s
    Will Kreamer (Food business) – Calvert
    Anna Chaney (Food business, farm) – Anne Arundel
    J.D. Blackwell (Aquaculture designee) – St. Mary’s
    Lynn White (Farmer’s Market, Legal) – Prince George’s
  • One Young Farmer Representative:
    Rebecca Seward – Charles
  • Up to two members representing Agri-tourism/Heritage:
    Mary Wood
    Lucille Walker

Special Members– 1 year terms

  • One Farm Bureau Director:
    Milly B Welsh
  • One Tri-County Council Executive Board Member:
    Delegate Mark Fisher

Ex-Officio Non-Voting

  • Local government small business and/or economic development and/or University of Maryland Extension representative:
    Lisa Barge – Anne Arundel
    Donna Sasscer – St. Mary’s
  • Agricultural land preservation representatives:
    Charles Rice – Charles
    Barbara Polito – Anne Arundel
    Rachel O’Shea - Calvert
  • Chair of the Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland
    Commissioner Debra Davis
    - Charles
  • Secretary of Maryland Department of Agriculture (MDA) 
    Joseph Bartenfelder

    Shelby Watson Hampton (representative)
  • Secretary of the Maryland Department Commerce
    R. Michael Gill
    Steve Wall (representative)
  • Dean of College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, University of Maryland Extension
    Dr. Craig Beyrouty
  • Past Secretaries of MDA
    Earl “Buddy” Hance
    Bud Virts
    Hagner Mister